Driver Licensing


What is Graduated Driver Licensing?

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) is a three-stage program designed to help new drivers, regardless of age, acquire the knowledge and skill needed to safely operate a motor vehicle. Whether you are 16 or 60, GDL enables new drivers to gain more experience under a greater variety of driving conditions.

The three licence stages of GDL are:

  1. Learner (minimum nine months),
  2. Intermediate (minimum 15 months),
  3. Full (for the first three years).

Each stage of both Class 5 and Class 6 has specific restrictions on the new driver that will reduce the opportunity and likelihood for them to engage in risky driving behaviour.

Why have GDL?

GDL is intended to reduce accidents among new drivers by allowing them to gain valuable driving experience under controlled conditions, thereby lowering the risk of vehicle collisions.

Statistics show that new drivers are three times more likely to have an accident than experienced drivers. GDL does not discriminate by age, gender or geographic location.

Who does GDL apply to?

GDL applies to all new applicants who are entering the driver licensing system and who are applying for a:

  • Class 5 licence and have never held a licence before
  • Class 6 licence and have never held a class 6 licence before

GDL will not apply to:

  • drivers who held a licence of any class (1–6 or 7) or stage before April 1, 2002
  • drivers who held a Motorcycle Instruction Permit before April 1, 2002
  • experienced drivers whose licence is changed to a Learner Stage due to a test failure
  • experienced out-of-province drivers who are required to take full driver examinations on transferring to a Manitoba driver’s licence
  • drivers who hold a Full Class 5 licence and want to learn to drive class 1–4 vehicles
  • Drivers who do not hold a Full licence will be issued an “Authorized Instruction” licence (Stage A) in the appropriate class(es), and will be subject to zero blood alcohol content while holding the “Authorized Instruction” licence (Stage A) in a Class 5 and/or Class 6.