Remote area registrations

The Highway Traffic Act and The Drivers and Vehicles Act allow residents in remote communities to register their vehicles for a special registration charge. To qualify for the special registration charge, applicants must live in remote communities which are not connected to the provincial highways system by a year-round all-weather road.

Vehicles which qualify will display special licence plates, which restrict the vehicle to the roads in the community, and between one or more such remote communities. They may not be operated on any provincial highway in Manitoba.

The following is a list of designated remote areas:

  • Brochet R0B 0B0
  • Churchill R0B 0E0
  • Fort Churchill R0B 0E0
  • Garden Hill R0B 0T0
  • Gods Lake Narrows R0B 0M0
  • Ilford R0B 0S0
  • Lac Brochet R0B 2E0
  • Island Lake R0B 0T0
  • Little Grand Rapids R0B 0V0
  • Loon Straits R0C 1X0
  • Oxford House R0B 1C0
  • Pauingassi R0B 2G0
  • Pikwitonei R0B 1E0
  • Poplar River R0B 0Z0
  • Pukatawagan R0B 1G0
  • Shamattawa R0B 1K0
  • South Indian Lake R0B 1N0
  • Ste. Theresa Point R0B 1J0
  • Stevenson Island R0B 2H0
  • Tadoule Lake R0B 2C0
  • Thicket Portage R0B 1R0
Open a Claim